top of page
HGA Trumpet.png
HGA Trumpet.png

We believe that human life is infused with the sacramental goodness of God. The Catholic Church has defined seven sacraments instituted by and through the life of Jesus Christ. It is through the experience of the sacramental ritual that

we are infused with God’s grace. The Sacraments nourish and strengthen us as they express and build up our faith.

Sacraments of Initiation


The Sacrament of Baptism is administered regularly on the first and third Sundays of the month at 12:30pm.

Parental instruction is mandatory before Baptism. Classes are held on the fourth Sunday of every other

month and should be attended prior to the baptism of the child. At least one Godparent must be a

practicing Catholic for the valid reception of baptism. That person must also receive a certificate of

eligibility from their Catholic Parish. A non-Catholic Christian is permitted to act as a witness. Parents should begin to make arrangements for baptism during pregnancy.  For more information on baptism at Holy

Guardian Angels, please contact Rachel Toledo at 610-921-2729, ext. 2200 or


The Eucharist is the source and summit of the Christian life. The term “Eucharist” originates from the Greek

word eucharistia, meaning thanksgiving. In the celebration of the Eucharist, bread and wine become the

Body and Blood of Jesus Christ through the power of the Holy Spirit and the instrumentality of the priest.


At Confirmation, we receive the gifts of the Holy Spirit and confirm our baptismal promises.

Greater awareness of the grace of the Holy Spirit is conferred through the anointing of chrism oil

and the laying on of hands by the Bishop. Confirmation perfects Baptismal grace; it is the sacrament

which gives the Holy Spirit in order to root us more deeply in the divine filiation, incorporate us more

firmly into Christ, strengthen our bond with the Church, associate us more closely with her mission,

and help us bear witness to the Christian faith in words accompanied by deeds.

Sacraments of Healing


The virtue or disposition of heart by which one repents of one's own sins and is converted to God. Also the punishment by which one atones for sins committed, either by oneself or by others. And finally the sacrament

of penance, where confessed sins committed after baptism are absolved by a priest in the name of God.


The Anointing of the Sick is administered to bring spiritual and even physical strength during an illness, especially near the time of death. It is most likely one of the last sacraments one will receive.

A sacrament is an outward sign established by Jesus Christ to confer inward grace. In more basic terms,

it is a rite that is performed to convey God’s grace to the recipient, through the power of the Holy Spirit.

Sacraments of Vocation


The process of preparation for the Sacrament of Matrimony within the Church takes at least six months. 

We encourage you to begin the following steps as soon as you become engaged. Couples will meet

with Father Finlan at least three times to discuss the wedding day details and to prepare for their

lifelong commitment. Diocesan marriage preparation classes are also required. Please call the rectory

at 610-921-2729  to set up an appointment and to book your ceremony date and time.


Is God calling you to serve Him more closely? Do you desire to know what plan God has for you?

Do you have an inner longing to seek the Father's will and to do something extraordinary with your life?

Do you sense a call to the Priesthood of Jesus Christ? If you have answered "yes" to any of these questions,

God may be calling you to serve Him as a Priest. Our Heavenly Father loves you and calls you to Holiness.

This sacrificial love of the Father is poured out for you through His Son Jesus Christ. At this time,

allow the Holy Spirit, who is Love, to guide you through quiet reflection and persistent prayer.
For more information on Vocations in the Diocese of Allentown, please contact

Rev. Mark Searles, Director of Vocations at

bottom of page